AACS Award winners announced

Following the best ever attendance at the Australasian Association of Convenience Stores’ (AACS) annual AACS Leadership Summit held yesterday, last night’s AACS Gala Awards again proved a huge success, with the industry’s most outstanding professionals and innovative organisations honoured.

Caltex was named Retailer of the Year for the second year consecutive year, while Coca Cola won Supplier of the Year.

AACS Awards

AACS CEO, Jeff Rogut, said the Summit earlier in the day was well attended by more than 300 people, who heard from some of Australia’s and the world’s leading industry minds, with this number swelling to nearly 600 people in attendance for the awards dinner.

“The annual AACS Convenience Leaders Summit and Gala Awards have taken a significant step this year, in terms of reach and importance. As an industry we recognise the challenges and also the opportunities, and the atmosphere over the course of the day was one of confidence and conviction,” Mr Rogut said.

“The focus on innovation is already driving improved performance in the convenience channel, and the awards are an important way to recognise the investments made by those individuals and businesses at the forefront.

“It is clear that, as we continue to develop talent and innovate for the future, the retailers, suppliers and associated entities in our industry can maintain the optimism that has underpinned their recent performance, as they strive to serve their customers as best they can,” he said.

Consistently one of the most anticipated and hotly contested awards, the AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Award, which honours the up and coming stars of the industry, was won by Jack Murphy-Cruise of BP on the retailer side and James Neill of Philip Morris on the supplier side.

Both winners will now prepare for the AACS overseas study tour to London and Amsterdam in October, and then on to the National Association of Convenience Stores (NACS) Show in Atlanta.

AACS AWards awards crowd

AACS Awards

Retailer of the Year

Finalists: AA Petroleum, Caltex, 7 – Eleven
Winner: Caltex

Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Smiths, Mondelez, Coca Cola
Winner: Coca Cola

Beverage & Dairy Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Frucor, Coca Cola, Parmalat
Winner: Coca Cola

Ice Cream and Snacking Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Smiths, Peters Ice Cream, Unilever Streets
Winner: Smiths

Confectionery Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Stuart Alexander, Wrigley, Mondelez
Winner: Mondelez

Food on the Go Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Mrs Macs, PFD Fresh to Go, Patties
Winner: Mrs Macs

Tobacco Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Imperial Tobacco, Philip Morris, Richlands Express
Winner: Philip Morris

Service Provider of the Year

Finalists: IRI Aztec, Shopper Tracker/Advantage Australia, Nielsen
Winner: Shopper Tracker/Advantage Australia

GM/Publications/Telecoms Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Pacific Optics, Optus, Vodafone
Winner: Pacific Optics

Distributor of the Year

Finalists: C Store Distribution, Dicksons, The Distributors
Winner: The Distributors

Company Operated Store

BP Marsden Park
Caltex Starmart Annerley
Night Owl Southport
Winner: BP Marsden Park

Franchised/Independent Store

Westside Petroleum Blayney
Caltex Starmart Greenfields
Caltex Starmart Upper Coomera
Winner: Caltex Starmart Greenfields

AACS Store of the Year 2016

APCO Easy Shop Mildura

AACS Awards PJ winners

AACS Peter Jowett Award Winners


James Neill  – Philip Morris Limited


Jack Murphy-Cruise – BP

Congratulations to all winners, and all who participated in this year’s awards.

Sign up to C&I’s free bi-weekly newsletter here to receive the latest industry news every Tuesday and Thursday. Follow C&I on Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top