AACS annual awards winners take a well-earned bow

3rd from L: Kerri Charlton, APCO Female Store Operator of the Year. Photography by Murray Schoorman, Peak Hour Images

Over 650 leading lights in the Australian convenience industry came together at Crown in Melbourne last night to celebrate the inspiring achievements of the top retailers, suppliers, stores and up-and-coming talent in convenience at the AACS Gala & Awards dinner.

The first award given out was a special celebratory award for Keith Berg and Safa de Valois -the founder of Convenience and Impulse Retailing magazine, and commercial director. Jeff Rogut presented the award to celebrate 30 years of the magazine.

This year’s Retailer of the Year was BP Australia and the Supplier of the Year award went to PepsiCo.

The Store of the Year awards went to The Foodary at Tullamarine (company operated) and BP Urbanista at Condell Park (franchise/independent).

Top individual honours went to Shannon Fargher of BP and Matt Bluck of Parmalat, who picked up the coveted AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Industry Awards for retailers and suppliers respectively. Deborah Ruka of Caltex was named the AACS Woman of the Year.

AACS CEO Jeff Rogut said the Convenience Leaders Summit and Gala Awards celebration were especially poignant this year, which has seen the convenience sector elevated to the front of the public conscious.

“The AACS Gala Awards are a great way to remind ourselves of the talent and innovation that’s driving our industry forward,” Mr Rogut said.

“Convenience stores have been in the headlines of late as victims of crime, but we won’t be defined in this way. Ours is a dynamic industry filled with people of great thinking and real action, and our award winners each exemplify the spirit of convenience in Australia.

“In particular, the commitment to innovate and find new and exciting ways to attract and serve customers is consistent across this year’s winners and finalists. Customer service is at the core of what we do, and ensuring we do this in the most convenient way possible, delivering an experience that communicates our value proposition, is the true value of convenience.

“Congratulations to all this year’s winners and runners-up, and thank you to the industry for getting involved in our Convenience Leaders Summit and Gala Awards,” he says.

AACS Awards – all winners by category

A full list of this year’s AACS Awards winners is overleaf. To ensure the best and fairest outcome, the awards for retailers were judged by suppliers and vice versa. Stores award entries were nominated by retailers and then judged through a team of mystery shoppers against set criteria.

And the award goes to….

AACS Supplier Awards

Food on the Go

Finalists: Mrs Macs, Handmade Food Co., Patties Foods

Winner: Patties Foods


Finalists: Coca Cola, Frucor Suntory, Lion Dairy & Drinks

Winner: Frucor Suntory


Finalists: Mondelez, Stuart Alexander, Nestle

Winner: Stuart Alexander


Finalists: Metcash, The Distributors, PFD Foods

Winner: The Distributors

Service Provider

Finalists: IRI, Convenience Measures, Shopper Tracker

Winner: Convenience Measures

Grocery & GM

Finalists: Pacific Optics, Repco

Winner: Pacific Optics


Finalists: PepsiCo, Peters, Snackbrands

Winner: PepsiCo


Finalists: Optus, Telstra, Vodafone

Winner: Vodafone


Finalists: Philip Morris, Richlands Express, Imperial Tobacco

Winner: Philip Morris


AACS Store Awards

Major Retailer Company Operated Store of the Year

Finalists:  7-Eleven – Brisbane, APCO – North Geelong

Winner: The Foodary – Tullamarine


Major Retailer Franchise / Independent Store of the Year

Finalists: 7-Eleven – Lithgow, Westside Petroleum – Bundanoon

Winner:  BP Urbanista – Condell Park


AACS Supplier of the Year

Finalists: Coca Cola, Frucor Suntory, PepsiCo

Winner: PepsiCo


AACS Retailer of the Year

Finalists: AA Petroleum, BP Australia, 7 Eleven

Winner: BP Australia


AACS PJ Industry Award

Finalists: Retail

  • Anthea Tsaousis, BP
  • Shannon Fargher, BP
  • Samantha Ngan Kee, Caltex

Finalists: Suppliers

  • Matt Bluck, Parmalat
  • Samuel Bennett, Optus
  • Sean MacKay, Philip Morris


Retail: Shannon Fargher, BP

Suppliers: Matt Bluck, Parmalat

AACS Women of the Year

Rising Star Finalists

Finalists: Bethany Franklin – BP, Erin Beilharz – Schweppes, Sabrina Bayer – Frucor Beverages

Winner: Sabrina Bayer, Frucor Beverages


Store Operator of the Year Finalists

Finalists: Kathy Bright – BP, Kerri Charlton – APCO, Rebecca Smith – BP

Winner: Kerri Charlton, APCO


Women of the Year Finalists

Finalists: Tracey Janson – Phillip Morris, Deborah Ruka – Caltex, Sylvia Laible – BP

Winner: Deborah Ruka, Caltex



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top