Finalists for the 2018 VACC service station and convenience store award have been announced

Instituted by the Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce (VACC) in recognition of the many excellent businesses operating in the state, the VACC Industry Awards are the premier awards dedicated to the Victorian automotive industry.

VACC Executive Director Geoff Gwilym said the VACC Industry Awards demonstrated  VACC members’ commitment to quality.

“Short-listed from a record 276 entries, the cream has risen to the top in 2018 – VACC’s centenary year. These finalists are the best in the Victorian automotive industry,” he said.

Categories for the 2018 VACC Industry Awards include mechanical repair; auto electrical; recycling; body repair; engine reconditioning; farm machinery; heavy vehicle repair; new and used car, motorcycle and commercial vehicle dealers; service station and convenience stores; aftermarket and retail; towing; and tyre dealers.

The finalists in the service station and convenience store category have been announced as Caltex Star Mart Albert Park and Diamond Creek Self Serve.

New for this year are categories for vehicle restoration and Best Unsung Hero, including an inaugural Women in Small Business award.

“VACC was overwhelmed by the number of entries received from all over Victoria this year. Judging these entrants and narrowing down the field to the finalists was not an easy task,” said Mr Gwilym.

Ten expert judges evaluated entries based on customer service, professional and technical development, industry improvement, and environmental and occupational health & safety.

To ensure that only the finest of VACC’s more than 5,000 members would be announced as the overall category winners, an independent standards representative audited the judging.

“VACC wishes all of the finalists the best of luck and recommends these businesses to Victorian motorists. When seeking superior quality and excellent customer service look for the famous orange VACC sign: the mark of the industry professional,” said Mr Gwilym.

Category winners will be announced at a black tie gala evening, featuring master of ceremonies, Mike Munro AM and a stellar lineup of entertainers, headed by Kate Ceberano AM, on Saturday, 23 June at the Palladium at Crown, Melbourne. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top