NSW to get Australia’s largest rollout of kerbside EV chargers

The NSW Government is set to install 671 EV charging points at 391 sites across the state over the next 12 months.

It is investing $4.1 million in the installation, which will be matched by $8 million in private investment, in a bid to give EV drivers confidence to hit the road knowing that they have many options to top up their battery.

Penny Sharpe, NSW’s Minister for Climate Change and Energy, said this investment will significantly increase the availability of public charging options and give people confidence their next vehicle purchase can be an EV.

“Almost 30 per cent of NSW drivers do not have access to private, off-street parking to charge an EV. That figure is considerably higher in metro areas.

“We will continue to roll out EV charging grants to further support the NSW goal of being the easiest place in Australia to own and drive an electric vehicle.”

The chargers will be installed across 16 Local Government Areas with ranging from 7 kilowatts to 75 kilowatts and will include pole mounted, pedestal and ‘kiosk’ EV chargers.

Behyad Jafari, CEO of the Electric Vehicle Council, said they know convenient and visible charging infrastructure in densely populated areas is critical to giving people the confidence to switch to EVs.

“These chargers mean everyone can benefit from EVs, including renters and people who can’t charge at home.

“This investment is important not just for the direct amenity it provides, but also because it serves as a powerful signal to consumers that the NSW Government supports your move to a zero-tailpipe emission vehicle when you’re ready to make the switch.”

The investment is part of the NSW Government’s $209 million investment into charging infrastructure, which also includes $149 million for EV fast chargers which reduce the time it takes to top up batteries, $20 million for EV destination charging grants to install ports at regional tourist destinations in NSW, and $10 million in EV ready buildings to retrofit EV infrastructure in apartment buildings.

The 16 LGA’s are: Blacktown City Council, Burwood Council, Council of the City of Sydney, Georges River Council, Inner West Council, Ku-ring-gai Council, Lane Cove Municipal Council, Liverpool City Council, Mosman Municipal Council, City of Newcastle, North Sydney Council, Northern Beaches Council, Randwick City Council, Waverley Council, Willoughby City Council, and Woollahra Municipal Council.

To stay up to date on the latest industry headlines, sign up to the C&I e-newsletter.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top